Brexit Done

Brexit happened at 11 p.m. GMT on 31/1/2020 after a delay of nine months and two days. Boris Johnson had contested the election on the slogan Get Brexit Done. He won.
After Brexiteers won the referendum in 2016 Remainers tried various tricks to stop Brexit from happening. Courts mostly sided with them. House of Commons Speaker John Bercow was a Remainer and he tried to prevent Brexit. Some people wanted another referendum calling it will be People’s Vote as if animals had voted in 2016 referendum. Theresa May who succeeded David Cameron as PM could not get Brexit done which was set for 29/3/2019. It was first postponed by two weeks, then to 31/10/2019. She resigned and Boris Johnson succeeded her in July 2019.
Boris Johnson said Brexit will take place on 31/10/2019, no ifs and no buts. But Speaker sided with Remainers in his rulings and Supreme Court ruled prorogation of House of Commons was invalid. Things did not go as Boris Johnson had planned and House of Commons voted that PM should write to EU for extension. To comply with that he sent an unsigned letter to EU asking for extension and two other letters mentioning he did not wanted extension. Though an unsigned letter is not valid EU granted extension to UK.
There were around 20 members of Conservative Party who had opposed Brexit. Boris Johnson threw them out of the party. As Labour Party said Conservative Party did not have majority Boris Johnson challenged them for election. They agreed. Election took place on 12/12/2019.
House of Commons strength is 630. Conservative Party got 365 seats, a gain of 47 seats. Labour Party got 203 seats, a loss of 59 seats. It lost many seats which it held for around hundred years. Many voters of Labour Party were in favour of Brexit. They were angry at Labour Party’s hostility to Brexit and voted for Conservative Party. Way for Brexit was clear.
In Scotland SNP won 48 seats out of 59. In referendum on 18/9/2014 Scotland’s majority had voted to remain in UK. In 2016 June 62% in Scotland had to remain in EU. SNP leader Nicola Sturgeon wants another referendum on Scottish Independence. Boris Johnson has denied it saying 2014 referendum was once in a lifetime opportunity. Nicola Sturgeon wants to go ahead with referendum. However it is said that Scotland will not get EU membership even if it gets independence because EU rules require deficit to be within 3% of GDP while Scotland’s deficit is 7% of GDP and growing. UK Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab said real reason for demand for Scottish independence is to distract from SNP’s failure in education and taxation.
UK had 73 members out of 751 in European Parliament. One UK MEP was of Pakistani origin. He was behind resolutions against CAA and NRC in European Parliament. With UK out of EU he will not be part of European Parliament.

70 Years of Supreme Court

When India became a Republic what was Federal Court became Supreme Court. It had Chief Justice of India and seven other Judges. Now it has CJI and 33 other Judges.
Salary of CJI was Rs.10,000/- p.m. and of any other Judge Rs.9,000/-. Now the salary of CJI is Rs.2,80,000/- p.m. and of any other Judge Rs.2,50,000/-.
Over the years Supreme Court has assumed powers it did not have. There is judicial activism/encroachment/overreach/tyranny. Restricting death penalty to rarest of rare cases is one example.
Supreme Court strikes down laws and amends Constitution by its verdicts. It assumed powers to appoint Supreme Court and High Court judges to itself by creation of collegium.
Judicial process should end when it upholds and sentences death sentence. Appeals against rejection of mercy petition should not be entertained by Supreme Court.
Supreme Court allowed public interest litigation in 1979. Many consider it publicity interest litigation, private interest litigation, political interest litigation or proxy interest litigation. Ashish Khetan had accused Prashant Bhushan of running PIL industry.
Curative petition is another invention of the Supreme Court started in 2002 which prolongs judicial process.
Strange is the case of Supreme Court appealing to itself after Delhi High Court ruling in Disclosure of Assets by Supreme Court Judges Case.
There are accusations of corruption. Prashant Bhushan had said of the 16 previous CJIs, 8 were corrupt, 6 were not corrupt and about 2 he did not know. He gave that information in a sealed envelope to Supreme Court.
CJI Ranjan Gogoi was accused of sexual harassment by a woman employee. She had lost her job. A three-judge internal complaints committee did not find substance in her accusation. It dismissed the case on 6/5/2019. As per reports of 22/1/2020 Supreme Court has reinstated that employee. Ranjan Gogoi’s term had ended on 17/11/2019. Justice Sharad Bobde succeeded him as CJI. He was one of the three judges of the committee.
It is not right for Supreme Court judges to sit at night especially after midnight. No situation warrants such a sitting. If a criminal is set to be hanged, so be it. If a Governor has given 15 days to Chief Minister to prove majority, so be it.

Bishops and CAA

And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded to you; and lo, I am with you always, to the close of the age.” (RSV –Mt. 28/18-20).
Some bishops have forgotten their mission. They engage in politics. Call to oppose CAA is a political decision. It was wrong for Archbishop Thomas D’Souza of Calcutta and Bishop Paul Antony Mullassery of Kollam to ask Catholics to read the Preamble after mass on Sunday 26 January 2020.
The Preamble has the words SOCIALST SECULAR which were not there when Constitution was adopted on 26/11/1949. They were inserted by 42nd Amendment which came into effect on 3/1/1977. Strange that bishops want India to be a secular country instead of a Christian country. CAA is not against Christians of India or abroad. It is not against Indian Muslims.
Some bishops want to please Muslims and for that they will do anything. Professor T. J. Joseph’s hand was cut off by some Muslim criminals on 4/7/2010. Bishop Mar George Punnakottil of Kothamangalam did not condemn the attack on Joseph. He was sacked from Newman College and was not reinstated despite his acquittal in a case of causing communal hatred. His wife Salomy committed suicide. After that Joseph was reinstated when one day was left to retire. This is a dark chapter in church history.
Pakistan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh are Islamic states. One has to be a Muslim to be a President or Prime Minister or hold many offices in these countries. In Afghanistan some years back a Christian became a Muslim. He was condemned to death. Due to opposition by some countries he was declared insane and allowed to go abroad. In Pakistan, Christians face persecution. Many are falsely accused of blasphemy and are in jail. When Asia Bibi’s life was in danger no bishop said she should be given asylum in India.
Christians and Muslims have long history of wars. Egypt, Libya, Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, Syria, Turkey and Albania were Christian territories which Muslims conquered. Christians fought Crusades with Muslims. Battle of Tours in 732, Battle of Lepanto in 1571 and Battle of Vienna in 1683 halted Muslims advances in Europe. Daesh and Boko Haram persecute Christians.
In West Bengal it is TMC Government headed by Mamata Banerjee. In Kerala it is Left Front Government headed by Pinarayi Vijayan. When political situation changes there can be trouble for Christians in West Bengal and Kerala.