Voice from the Rooftop

Blog of Vincent Augustine D'Souza

Defence of Death Penalty

In 17 countries there are laws against denial of Holocaust. Imprisonment is from one year to 10 years. France had passed a law against denial of Armenian Genocide. The French Constitutional Council struck down that law. Switzerland, Greece, Cyprus and Slovakia have laws against denial of Armenian Genocide. India should have a law against opposition to death penalty for murder and other high crimes.
Abetment to murder, attempted murder, conspiracy to murder, false claim to have committed murder in order to mislead police and judiciary and/or to debunk and discredit death penalty, threat to murder, abduction, acid throwing, threat to throw acid, banditry, character assassination, drug trafficking, highway robbery, hijacking, human trafficking, kidnapping, leakage of question papers of public examinations, CAT, CET, JEE and such tests, double rape, repeat rape, gang rape, revenge porn, hoax call or message about bomb in building, plane, train, ship, bus or any other vehicle, terrorist act, transmission and/or uploading of nude pictures to cause damage to someone are high crimes. Adultery, apostasy, blasphemy, heresy, schism, and killing of cow are not high crimes.
Punishment to individuals who oppose death penalty should be minimum three years jail. Associations opposing death penalty should be banned and members put in jail. Newspapers, magazines, books, TV channels and other media opposing death penalty should be shut down and their owners, editors, anchors, printers, publishers put in jail. If a TV channel is owned by husband and wife both should be in jail.
Once the President rejects a mercy petition of a person sentenced to death it should be the end of the matter and the convict should be hanged. Any lawyer who approaches any court against President’s rejection should be hanged.
Any film or TV serial or episode in a TV serial that opposes death penalty or wants to show that the convict sentenced to death is not guilty should be banned.
Sometimes question papers of Board Examinations are leaked and lakhs of students are made to suffer for no fault of theirs by appearing for re-examinations.
Government of India should bring an Ordinance that makes death penalty mandatory in every case of murder and other high crimes. The law should be passed in the next session of Parliament. Death penalty can be by beheading, blowing up with dynamite, hanging or other means. Those who behead others should be beheaded. Those who plant bombs should be blown up with dynamite, whether bombs explode or not.

Removal of CJI

On 23/4/2018 Vice President and Chairman of Rajya Sabha M. Venkaiah Naidu rejected notice for the removal of CJI Dipak Misra. Many in Congress and some opposition parties are unhappy about it and want to go to Supreme Court. CJI is the master of roster and he will decide whether to admit the petition or not.
Many talk of impeachment of CJI. They are wrong. Constitution mentions only impeachment of President. Others are removed or sacked.
The notice was poorly drafted and the plan for removal was haphazardly executed. Phrases like “appears to have antedated”, “he too was likely”, “may have been” meant there was no certainty about the charges. The idea of removal is said to have originated with Sitaram Yechury of CPI(M) and Congress leaders were divided about removal of CJI. Congress took the lead and took signatures. AAP, AIADMK, BJD, DMK, TMC, TDP, TRS and some other parties did not support removal. The term of some Rajya Sabha MPs who signed the notice ended. Manmohan Singh did not sign the petition and it was said Congress had given up on removal.
Then came verdict in Judge B. H. Loya case which was not to the liking of Congress. It became active again and submitted the notice on 20/4/2018. It held a press conference about it. Venkaiah Naidu had programmes in Telangana till 24/4/2018. He returned on 22/4/2018 to consult Constitutional experts. Next day morning he rejected the notice.
Dipak Misra’s last working day is 2/10/2018. The process for removal is long, Congress and allies do not have numbers to remove him, and he would have retired by the time the matter for removal came up before Rajya Sabha. The idea was to embarrass CJI and BJP.
Venkaiah Naidu could have taken time to decide on the notice. He acted swiftly. He said it was to end needless speculation following a spate of statements in the press that seem to vitiate the atmosphere.
Judges Inquiry Act gives power to Chairman to either admit the motion or refuse to admit the same. Venkaiah Naidu acted legally and constitutionally. Opposition MPs are wrong to say his act is illegal and unconstitutional and there has not been application of mind.
Former Lok Sabha Secretary General Subhash Kashyap said Venkaiah Naidu rightly rejected removal notice. There are no prima facie cases against CJI. Opposition made wild and unsubstantiated allegations against CJI. Venkaiah Naidu has consulted Subhash Kashyap among others.

India on Syria

On 14/4/2018 USA, UK and France attacked Syria with missiles. India’s Ministry of External Affairs issued a statement in the evening.

“We have taken note of the recent strikes in Syria. India is closely following the situation. The alleged use of chemical weapons, if true, is deplorable. We call for an impartial and objective investigation by the OPCW to establish the facts. In the meantime, we urge all Parties to show restraint and to avoid any further escalation in the situation. The matter should be resolved through dialogue and negotiations, and on the basis of the principles of the UN Charter and in accordance with international law. We hope that the long drawn suffering of the people of Syria would come to an end soon.”

India should have condemned attack on Syria by USA, UK and France instead of calling for restraint on all sides. USA, UK, France and Israel are aggressors and supporters of terrorists in Syria. USA does what it wants or more particularly what its military industry wants. When it has support of UN it uses it. Otherwise it acts alone or with its allies. Terrorists in Syria are called freedom fighters by USA and allies. Many of the terrorists are Islamic fundamentalists. USA, UK and France are meddling in Syria’s affairs.
Some think missile strike on Syria is Donald Trump’s attempt to divert attention from Stormy Daniels affair. Former FBI Directory James Comey’s book ‘A Higher Loyalty’ due for release on 17/4/2018 is against Trump.
Why Russia did not shoot down American, British and French missiles? They had said they will shoot down every missile and all missiles that attack Syria. It knew of missile attacks. Talk is cheap. Action is needed. Russia’s credibility is at stake. We know of match-fixing, session-fixing, spot-fixing and toss-fixing. Is there war-fixing between Russia and USA? There are reports that Russia has asked its citizens to store food and medicines in bunkers. Is it preparing for war? It should have shot down enemy missiles. Russia claims Syria’s Russian-supplied anti-aircraft system shot down 71 of 103 missiles. That is different from Russia shooting down missiles. When Barack Obama was President, Russia had shot down two missiles aimed at Syria. Why Russia is soft on Donald Trump?

Russian Ambassador Anatoly Antonov to USA said missile strikes on Syria will not be left without consequences. Time will tell whether it is just talk.

Syria should attack USA, UK, France and Israel with missiles. There are US bases in Saudi Arabia and 2,000 American soldiers in Syria. Few American soldiers dying will turn American opinion against involvement is Syria.

Page 9 of 264« First...7891011...203040...Last »
Voice from the Rooftop | Vincent Augustine D'Souza © 2005-2018 Frontier Theme