Statehood for Konkan

Ever since Ajay Maken announced Congress has decided in favour of statehood for Telangana there have been many demands for various states. Over the years there were other demands.
There is no opposition to splitting of Uttar Pradesh in four states: Poorvanchal, Awadh Pradesh, Paschim (Harith) Pradesh, and Bundelkhand. Bundelkhand is a region spread over Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh. Some districts of Madhya Pradesh may go to Bundelkhand.
There was demand for Meru Pradesh. I suppose it was from Rajasthan.
There is demand for forming Kutch, Saurashtra, and Bhilistan from territories in Gujarat. Kutch and Saurashtra were once states. Kutchi is a language of the locals.
There is demand for Vidarbha comprising 11 districts of Maharashtra.
There is demand for Tulunadu comprising Udupi and South Kanara districts of Karnataka and Kasaragod of Kerala.
There is demand of statehood for Coorg which was once a state and now a district of Karnataka. Kodava is the language of the locals.
There is demand for Kongunadu comprising 10 districts of Tamil Nadu.
There is demand for Koshal comprising 10 districts of Orissa. There was a kingdom of Koshal or Kosala in ancient times.
There is demand for Mithilanchal comprising five districts of Bihar. Maithili is a language of the locals.
There is demand for Bhojpuri state comprising territories of Uttar Pradesh and Bihar.
There is demand for Gorkhaland comprising some territory of West Bengal. The agitation has taken a violent turn. There is indefinite blockade in the region. Previously Gorkhaland National Liberation Front under the leadership of Subhash Ghising had led an agitation for statehood and settled for council.
There is demand for Kamatapur comprising territories of West Bengal and Assam. Kamatapur Liberation Organisation had camps in Bhutan.
There is demand for states of Bodoland comprising the territory of Bodoland Territorial Autonomous Council, Karbi Anglong, and Dimaraji in Assam. The agitations have been violent.
There is demand for Garoland in Meghalaya and Kukiland in Manipur.
There is demand for state in some districts of Nagaland.
More demands for states like Mewad, Marwad, Shekhawati, Madhya Bharat, Vindhya Pradesh, Baghelkhand, Rohilkhand, Santhal, Munda, Oraon, Khariya and so on.
There is demand for Union Territory status for Ladakh. People are predominantly Buddhists who speak Ladakhi.
I demand Konkan. There is Konkan Division comprising Thane, Raigadh, Ratnagiri and Sindhudurg districts in Maharashtra. Konkan State shall comprise of:
1) Union Territories of Diu & Daman and Dadra & Nagar Haveli.
2) Bulsar and Dangs districts of Gujarat.
3) Thane, Greater Bombay, Bombay Suburban, Raigadh, Ratnagiri and Sindhudurg districts in Maharashtra.
4) State of Goa.
5) North Kanara, Udupi, South Kanara districts of Karnataka.
6) Kasaragod district of Kerala.
7) Union Territory of Lakshadweep.
Kasaragod and Amindivi Islands were part of South Kanara. Amindivi Islands are part of Lakshadweep. Other territories may become parts of Konkan.
Konkani will be the official language of Konkan. Gujarati, Marathi, Kannada, and Malayalam will be used in respective regions.
Modesty forbids from mentioning who should be the first Governor of Konkan.

Updated: August 10, 2013 — 8:00 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *