Rise of AAP

AAP has risen in recent weeks. Winning 28 seats out of 70 in Delhi Legislative Assembly elections, forming the government and winning vote of confidence has attracted many people to become members of AAP. Doctors, lawyers, engineers, and other people have joined AAP. Alka Lamba was in Congress. Teena Sharma was in BJP at one time. G. R. Gopinath and Meera Sanyal had contested 2009 Lok Sabha elections as independents. Mallika Sarabhai and Ashutosh have joined.
Most people support AAP because it is against corruption. They were not members of any political party. They have hope that India can get rid of corruption. Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi were spoken as prime ministerial candidates. Now Arvind Kejriwal’s name is mentioned.
BJP is jittery. They were sure Narendra Modi will be PM. They feel AAP will take away anti-Congress votes that would have gone to BJP. Consequently BJP’s vote share and seat share will decrease.
AAP will have to contend with many parties all over India. In most states they will have to contest against BJP and Congress. Besides these two, there are other parties strong in states or regions. In Andhra Pradesh there are TDP, TRS, and YSR Congress. In Assam there is AGP. In Bihar there are LJP, RJD, and JD(U). In Jharkhand there is JMM. In Karnataka there is JD(S). In Kerala there are some parties. In Maharashtra there are MNS, NCP and Shiv Sena. In Orissa there is BJD. In Punjab there is SAD. In Tamil Nadu there are DMK and ADMK. In Uttar Pradesh there are BSP, RLD and SP. In West Bengal there are TMC and Left Front.
To form government AAP will need 272 seats. It may find candidates for 543 constituencies. If it wins 272 or more it has no problem. Many regional leaders have prime ministerial ambition.
AAP has a target of one crore members by 26/1/2014. It has waived 10 rupees entry fee as it was cumbersome to give receipt to every entrant. One can join by phone call, SMS or internet.

Updated: January 11, 2014 — 7:59 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *