Return of Congress

Congress has returned to power in Rajasthan after 5 years and Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh after 15 years.
Narendra Modi’s Congress-Free India dream is shattered. It may turn into nightmare of BJP-Free India. Congress was able to hold on to power in Karnataka by supporting JD(S). Now it has returned to power in Chhattisgarh.

In Madhya Pradesh out of 230 seats Congress got 114, BJP 109, BSP 2, SP 1, Independents 4.

Ajit Jogi was CM of Chhattisgarh 15 years back. Now he heads Janata Chhattisgarh Congress (J). His alliance with BSP did not get him victory. His party got 5 seats, BSP 2. His plan of playing kingmaker also failed. Congress got 68 seats out of 90. BJP got 15.

In Rajasthan out of 199 seats Congress got 99, BJP 73, BSP 6, CPI(M) 2, others 19. The strength of Rajasthan Legislative Assembly is 200. Election was not held in one constituency.

KCR’s gamble of dissolving Legislative Assembly 10 months ahead of schedule paid off. TRS got 88 seats out of 119. Strange alliance of Congress and TDP failed in Telangana. BJP did not have much chance. Congress got 19, TDP 2, AIMIM 7, BJP 1, Independent 1. KCR now wants to become PM. That is tough. Non-BJP, Non-Congress parties have many leaders like Mamata Banerjee and Mayawati who want to be PM.

Mizo National Front won in Mizoram. It got 26 seats. Congress was in power. It got 5. BJP 1, others 8. Total 40.

In 2003 BJP had won in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. In 2004 it lost Lok Sabha elections at national level. There is no guarantee that Congress will win Lok Sabha elections even if it repeats its success in the three states.

Rahul Gandhi visited many temples. He too played Hindutva card. If you can not beat them, join them. He visited at least one mosque to assure Muslims he was on their side, he has not abandoned them.

Yogi Adityanath campaigned in the states. His record as UP CM is not favourable to get Muslim votes for BJP. His desire to erase all signs of Muslim rule has led to apprehensions outside UP. Change of names from Allahabad to Prayagraj, Faizabad to Ayodhya, Mughalsarai to Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay Nagar has further alienated Muslims after acts of cow protectors.

There are many losers. AAP tops the list. It did not win any seat in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. It got less than 1% of votes. Its candidates lost deposits. BSP, SP and TDP are among losers.

Narendra Modi and Amit Shah will escape blame for BJP loss. It will be termed collective failure as happened after BJP defeat in Bihar in 2015.

Contest for Lok Sabha 2019 is wide open.

Updated: December 12, 2018 — 12:45 pm


Add a Comment
  1. Which Christian association do you belong to? How much hate do you have in your heart? Why didn’t you go to ask “Pawa Mannippu”?

  2. I am a heartless man. No heart, no hatred in heart. Obligation of confess is for those who have committed mortal sin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *