Narendra Modi is Prime Minister

Narendra Modi is India’s 14th prime minister. His predecessors were Jawaharlal Nehru, Lal Bahadur Shastri, Indira Gandhi, Morarji Desai, Charan Singh, Rajiv Gandhi, Vishwanath Pratap Singh, Chandra Shekhar, P. V. Narasimha Rao, Atal Behari Vajpayee, H. D. Deve Gowda, Inder Kumar Gujral, and Manmohan Singh.
On 26/5/2014 at 6.10 p.m. Narendra Modi took oath as Prime Minister of India. Swearing-in of ministers was scheduled at 6 p.m. He arrived at the forecourt at 5.59 p.m. Vice President Hamid Ansari followed. President Pranab Mukherjee appeared at 6.07 p.m. Swearing-in began after the playing of national anthem.
By 6 p.m. on 16 May it was clear that BJP had majority in Lok Sabha. After that Modi took 10 days for swearing-in. BJP Parliamentary Party meeting elected him leader on 20 May. After that six days gap was incomprehensible. The reason became clear when news came out that Modi has invited SAARC leaders for swearing-in. This was unprecedented. Prime Minister of Mauritius Navin Ramgoolam was also invited.
Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Venkaiah Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, Sadananda Gowda, Uma Bharti, Najma Heptullah, Gopinath Munde, Ram Vilas Paswan, Kalraj Mishra, Maneka Gandhi, Ananth Kumar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Ashok Gajapati Raju, Anant Geete, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Narendra Singh Tomar, Jual Oram, Radha Mohan Singh, Thawar Chand Gehlot, Smriti Irani, Harsh Vardhan took oath as cabinet ministers.
Vijay Kumar Singh, Inderjit Singh, Santosh Kumar Gangwar. Shripad Naik, Dharmendra Pradhan, Sarbananda Sonowal, Prakash Javadekar, Piyush Goyal, Jitendra Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman took oath as minsters of state with independent charge.
G. M. Siddeshwara, Manoj Sinha, Nihal Chand, Upendra Kushwaha, Pon Radhakrishnan, Kiren Rijuju, Krishan Pal, Sanjeev Kumar Baliyan, Mansukhbhai Vasava, Raosaheb Patil Danwe, Vishnu Deo Sai, Sudarshan Bhagat took oath as minsters of state.
Most ministers took oath in Hindi. Venkaiah Naidu, Sadananda Gowda, Najma Heptullah, Maneka Gandhi, Ashok Gajapati Raju, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Sarbananda Somwal, Nirmala Sitharaman, G. M. Siddeshwara, took oath in English.
The council of ministers has prime minister, 23 cabinet ministers, 10 MoS (independent charge), 12 MoS, total 46 ministers.
Swearing-in got over at 7.28 p.m. Then there was group photo of ministers with President and Vice President. After that Modi had a group photo with SAARC leaders.
Manmohan Singh was present. Sonia Gandhi was present. Lal Krishna Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi were present. Salman Khan and Salim Khan were present. Zafar Sareshwala was present. Vivek Oberoi was present. Gautam Adani, target of Rahul Gandhi’s attacks, was present. Anil Ambani was present. Mukesh Ambani was present. Prannoy Roy and Vikram Chandra were present. Ram Madhav, Sri Sri Ravi Shankar and Sadhvi Rithambhara were present. Uddhav Thackeray was present.
Subramanian Swamy was not seen. Mamata Banerjee, Navin Patnaik, Jayalalitha, Oomen Chandy and Siddaramaiah had made it clear they will not attend. Some other chief ministers were not seen.
SAARC leaders were present. Bangladesh Speaker represented Sheikh Hasina Wajed. Other leaders were present in person. Tamil Nadu parties had opposed invitation to Mahinda Rajapaksa. Modi ignored them. Nawaz Sharif took time to accept the invitation. Media focussed on invitation to Nawaz Sharif. BJP spokespersons had hard time to convince journalists that the invitations were for SAARC leaders.
Arun Jaitley and Smriti Irani have made it to cabinet. They lost Lok Sabha elections but continue to be Rajya Sabha members. Nirmala Sitharaman is not an MP and did not contest elections. Some BJP MPs who were previously ministers have not made it to the cabinet. Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Shatrughan Sinha and Vinod Khanna are among them.
There will be disappointment among ministers who did not get desired portfolios and MPs who did not become ministers. They will wait for their chance to hit at Modi. Modi does not have to worry about allies since BJP has majority of its own. He has to tackle inflation and price rise.

Updated: May 29, 2014 — 7:33 am

1 Comment

Add a Comment
  1. very detailed write on the new P.M’s swearing in ceremony.Now lets hope he gets to work , a lot needs to be done and he has promises to keep

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *