Let Bombay be the capital of India

After India became independent and before it became republic 562 princely states were amalgamated. Later Chandranagore, Mahe, Karaikal, Pondicherry, Yanam, Dadra, Nagar Haveli, Goa, Diu, Daman and Sikkim became part of India. What is India today could have been 573 countries.

Separatist movements started soon after independence. Nagas and Mizos wanted to set up independent countries and fought for many years. Later separatist movements started in Assam, Manipur, Tripura, Punjab and Jammu & Kashmir.

Now in Maharashtra there are attacks on outsiders. There is a demand on private companies that 80% of the jobs must be reserved for Marathi people. This demand is accompanied with threat. There are many people who work outside Maharashtra. They are forgotten.

Separatism in Maharashtra will have serious repercussions for unity of India. It was easy to crush Naga and Mizo movements. Assam, Manipur, Tripura and Punjab movements were crushed after many years. Jammu & Kashmir movement still continues.

If the separatist tendency in Maharashtra is not nipped in the bud it will lead to India splitting into many countries. Soon every state will go its own way and there will be many countries. India will disappear like USSR, Czechoslovakia and Yugoslavia.

If Bombay is made the capital of India it can make a difference. It will not cost much. Governor’s House can be President’s House. Houses of state ministers, MLAs and MLCs can be houses of union ministers and MPs. Offices can be in Mantralaya. During winter there is fog in Delhi and flight and train schedules are affected. Headquarters of many Central Government institutions are in Bombay. The bungalows and flats of MPs in Delhi can be sold for large sums.

Nagpur can be the capital of Maharashtra. It has Governor’s House, houses of state ministers, MLAs and MLCs. Winter session of Maharashtra legislature is held there.

Delhi was not always the capital of India. Pataliputra was the capital of Magadha Empire. No dynasty ruled from Delhi for a long time. From 1206 to 1526 Slave, Khilji, Tughlak and Lodhi dynasties ruled from Delhi. Babur founded the Mughal Empire in 1526. Humayun succeeded in 1530. Sher Khan defeated him in 1540. Humayun returned in1555 and died in 1556. Akbar tried Fatehpur Sikri as capital and later made Agra the capital of Mughal Empire. Shah Jahan made Delhi his capital. He was overthrown in 1658 and spent last eight years of his life as a prisoner in Agra Fort. The Muhal Empire disintegrated after the death of Aurangzeb in 1707. The British Empire in India began with Calcutta as its capital. Simla was the summer capital. The British shifted the capital to Delhi in 1931 and the decline of British Empire in India began. In 1932 Aden was separated from India. In 1937 Burma was separated from India. In 1947 British rule in India came to an end and Pakistan was separated from India.

My personal preference is for making Evershine City the capital of India. It is one mile away on the eastern side from Vasai Road railway station. It takes 25 minutes by train from Borivali to Vasai Road. However the situation warrants quick change of capital from Delhi to Bombay.

Updated: July 5, 2014 — 2:22 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *