Football teams 2014

Football World Cup 2014 is going on. The teams are Brazil, Croatia, Mexico, Cameroon in Group A; Spain, Holland, Chile, Australia in Group B; Colombia, Greece, Japan, Ivory Coast in Group C; Uruguay, Costa Rica, England, Italy in Group D; Switzerland, France, Ecuador, Honduras in Group E; Argentina, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Iran and Nigeria in Group F; Germany, Portugal, Ghana, USA in Group G; and Belgium, Algeria, Russia, South Korea in Group H.
Russia is spread over Asia and Europe. Iran, Japan, South Korea are from Asia. Australia is the only team from that continent. Algeria, Cameroon, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Nigeria are from Africa. Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Uruguay are from South America. Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico, USA are from North America. Belgium, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia, England, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland are from Europe.
Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland form one compact area. Bosnia & Herzegovina and Croatia were part of Yugoslavia. Apart from Russia no country from former USSR is in Football World Cup.
India is good enough to play in Hockey World Cup which has 12 teams but not good enough to play in Football World Cup which has 32 teams. In cricket, being a Test-playing nation, it has a place in ODI and Twenty20 World Cups.
China is the most populous nation and does well in sports. In Olympics it is first or second. It is not in Football World Cup.
South Africa, host of 2010 World Cup, is not in Football World Cup.
At one time UK had four teams in Football World Cup. Now England is the only team and Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland are out.
There is no team from SAARC and ASEAN.
India’s Football Association can host a tournament similar to Football World Cup. It can invite teams from China and 30 more populous nations that are not part of Football World Cup. Indonesia, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Egypt, Angola, Mozambique, Ukraine, Poland, Kazakhstan and Canada can be some of those countries. India need not worry about FIFA standards and build new stadia. Two stadia are enough. That is because last two matches are to be held simultaneously to avoid match-fixing. Confining matches to two stadia will cut travel expenses and security. Money to be spent on tournament can be earned by telecast rights.

Updated: June 17, 2014 — 7:44 am

1 Comment

Add a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *