Election Results 2011

Election results for Legislative Assemblies in four states and one union territory are out. In Assam it is third time successively for Congress and allies. In West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee led TMC-Congress defeated Left Front which was in power for 34 years. In Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry, Jayalalitha led AIADMK and partners to victory over DMK-Congress coalition. In Kerala, UDF won, LDF lost.

CPI-M and CPI lost power in West Bengal and Kerala. They are in coalition with ADMK but did not contest many seats. Congress was in the winning combinations in Assam, West Bengal and Kerala. In Kerala and Tamil Nadu governments have changed every five years for the past few times. BJP lost seats in Assam and did not win seats in other states. Congress is happy that BJP did not do well.

In Kerala it was a close contest with UDF winning 72 seats and LDF winning 68 seats out of 140 seats. In Tamil Nadu, out of 234 seats, AIADMK alliance won 204 seats and DMK alliance won 30 seats. It is said that corruption, family rule, nepotism and arrogance led to DMK defeat and people took money but did not vote for it. In West Bengal, out of 294 seats TMC alliance won 228 seats, Left Front 61 seats and five seats went to others. Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee and many ministers lost their seats. In Assam, out of 126 seats Congress alliance won 80 and others won 46 seats.

Mamata Banerjee wants railway ministry to remain with TMC. That is likely. Union Cabinet reshuffle is expected by the end of the month.

Exit polls were generally right about who will win but were wrong about the number of seats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *